Call for Reviewers

APHA 2017 Annual Meeting & Expo
Atlanta GA | Nov. 04 — Nov. 08

The American Public Health Association is looking for reviewers for the APHA 2017 Annual Meeting & Expo.

The theme of the meeting is Creating the Healthiest Nation: Climate Changes Health

Reviewers have the opportunity to get a firsthand look at the abstracts submitted during the Call for Abstracts and to help develop the scientific content presented during the meeting.

General Information

Membership: Reviewers must be current members of APHA.

Instructions to become a reviewer

  1. Scroll below to select a specific Section, SPIG, Caucus or Forum whose submitted abstracts you would like to review.
  2. Click on the reviewers submission form to provide your contact information. You will also be required to select up to three topic areas that you would like to review.
  3. You will also be required to complete a conflict of interest form. This is a requirement by the Continuing Education Credentialing Bodies and APHA must be in compliance with this requirement.
  4. A program planner will review your information and assign you abstracts to review. You will receive an email by March 7 with instructions and deadlines moving forward.
  5. Reviewers will be required to read abstracts and rate them based on the criteria provided by the program planner.

We need your expertise to help make the meeting a success!

TO VOLUNTEER CLICK on the APHA sponsored, Section, SPIG, Caucus or Forum that interests you below.

Deadlines 11:59 pm PST

APHA - Sponsored

31-Jan-17

APHA-Committee on Women's Rights

Constance L. Jackson, MPH, CEIO, COWR CHAIR, Healthcare Informatics Department, Media Health Technologies, LLC, 904 Silver Spur Rd, Suite 510, Rolling Hills Estates, CA 90274, Phone: 310-366-4996, constancejackson@mycaremedia.com

31-Jan-17
Not yet open
APHA-Global Public Health Film Festival


31-Jan-17

APHA-Student Assembly

Haley Moss, Colorado School of Public Health, 1020 Wabash Street, 19-103, Fort Collins, CO 80526, Phone: 619-599-3891, haley.moss.apha@gmail.com

Deadlines 11:59 pm PST

Sections

31-Jan-17

Aging & Public Health

Elaine Jurkowski, School of Social Work, Southern Illinois University Carbondale, M/C 4329 , Suite 250, 475 Clocktower Drive, Carbondale, IL 62901-4329, Phone: 618-453-2243, Fax: 618-453-4291, etjurkow@siu.edu. Isis Mikhail, MD DrPH MPH, Scientific Review Branch, National Institute on Aging, 7201 Wisconsin Avenue, Ste 2C200, Bethesda, MD 20892, Phone: 301-402-7704, Fax: 301-402-0066, mikhaili@mail.nih.gov. Kenneth Chui, PhD, MS/MPH, Department of Public Health and Community Medicine, Tufts School of Medicine, 136 Harrison Ave, Boston, MA 02111, Phone: 617-636-0853, Fax: 617-636-4017, kenneth.chui@tufts.edu

31-Jan-17

Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drugs

Paul A. Gilbert, PhD, ScM, paul-gilbert@uiowa.edu. Steven Kritz, MD, START Treatment & Recovery Centers, 22 Chapel Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201, Phone: 718 260-2955, Fax: 718 522-3186, skritz@startny.org

31-Jan-17

Applied Public Health Statistics

Lei Zhang, PhD, MSc, MBA, Office of Health Data & Research, Mississippi State Department of Health, 570 East Woodrow Wilson Ave, Osborne 200, Jackson, MS 39215, Phone: 601-576-8165, Fax: 601-576-8168, Lei.Zhang@msdh.ms.gov

31-Jan-17

Chiropractic Health Care

Dana Madigan, DC, MPH, National University of Health Sciences, 200 E Roosevelt Road, Lombard, IL 60148, Phone: 773-680-9955, madigan.danam@gmail.com

31-Jan-17

Community Health Planning and Policy Development

Shariece Johnson, MA, ICF, 530 Research Boulevard, Suite 500, Rockville, MD 20850, Phone: 240-314-2414, shariecej@umbc.edu

31-Jan-17

Community Health Workers

Caitlin Allen, MPH, Division for Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Hwy N.E. MS F-72, Atlanta, GA 30341, Phone: 614-554-5298, chwsectionprogram@gmail.com. Ashley Stewart, ashleytstewart1@gmail.com

31-Jan-17

Disability

Amy Rauworth, MS, Lakeshore Foundation, 4000 Ridgeway Drive, Birmingham, AL 35226, Phone: 205-313-7487, amyr@lakeshore.org

31-Jan-17

Environment

Tara McAlexander, MPH, Bloomberg School of Public Health, Department of Environmental Health Sciences, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD 21218, Phone: 8565240750, tmcalex1@jhu.edu. Tanya Maslak, DC, maslak@battelle.org

31-Jan-17

Epidemiology

Nico Rizzo, PhD, Med.Dr, M.Sc., Center of Community Resilience, School of Public Health and Department of Basic Sciences, School of Medicine, Loma Linda University, 24951 North Circle Drive, Nichol Hall, Loma Linda, CA 92350, Phone: 909-558-4300-46167, Epidemiology.APHA@gmail.com

31-Jan-17

Ethics

Betty Wolder Levin, betty.levin@sph.cuny.edu

31-Jan-17

Food and Nutrition

Maya Maroto, EdD, MPH, RD, mayamaroto@gmail.com. Vish Vasani, MPH, CHES, vish.vasani@minneapolismn.gov

31-Jan-17

Health Administration

Reinetta Waldrop, DrPH, MSHS, FACHE, Atlanta, GA 30310, Phone: 404-752-1904, rwaldrop@msm.edu. Carmen Ashley, MPH,MCHES, Division of Adolescent and School Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Rd, Mailstop E-75, Atlanta, GA 30329, Phone: 404-718-8196, cashley@cdc.gov

31-Jan-17

Health Informatics Information Technology

Diane L Adams, MD, MPH, CHS-III, Founder, Health Informatics Information Technology (HIIT) Group of the American Public Health Association (APHA), Juxtopia, LLC, 800 I St., Silver Spring, MD 20906, Phone: 301-000-0000, dla8315@aol.com. Byron Sogie-Thomas, bsogie1@hotmail.com

31-Jan-17

HIV/AIDS

Anthony J. Santella, DrPH, MPH, MCHES, MPH Program, Hofstra University, Hofstra Dome 126, Hempstead, NY 11549, Phone: 516-463-5932, anthony.santella@hofstra.edu. Monique Brown, PhD, MPH, brownm3@usf.edu

1-Mar-17

Injury Control and Emergency Health Services

Joyce C. Pressley, PhD, MPH, Depts of Epidemiology and Health Policy and Management, Center for Injury Epidemiology and Prevention at Columbia, Columbia University, 722 W. 168th Street, Suite 812, New York, NY 10032, Phone: 212-342-0421, jp376@columbia.edu. Erin Wasserman, PhD, Datalys Center for Sports Injury Research and Prevention, 400 W. Michigan St., Suite 500, Indianapolis, IN 46202, Phone: 317-275-3664, ewasserman@datalyscenter.org. Santosh K. Verma, ScD, MPH, MBBS, Center for Injury Epidemiology, Liberty Mutual Research Institute for Safety, 71 Frankland Road, Hopkinton, MA 01748, Phone: 508-497-0213, Santosh.Verma@LibertyMutual.com. Janice Springer, DNP,RN, PHN, American Red Cross, 8200 70th Ave NE, Foley, MN 56329, Phone: 320 290 9532, janice.springer@redcross.org

31-Jan-17

Integrative, Complementary and Traditional Health Practices

Deborah Ndao, MPH, Office of Work/Life, Columbia University, Low Library, New York, NY 10027, Phone: 212-854-8873, dh493@columbia.edu. Daniel Gallego-Perez, MD, DrPH(c), Boston University School of Public Health, 26 Princeton St, Medford, MA 02155, Phone: 7815408396, danielfg@bu.edu

31-Jan-17

International Health

Jirair Ratevosian, MPH, Gilead Sciences, Inc., 333 Lakeside Dr., Foster City, CA 94404, Phone: 818-620-3171, jratevosian@gmail.com. Padmini Murthy, MD, MPH, MS, School of Health Sciences and Practice, New York Medical College, school of health sciences, School of Health Sciences and Practice, Valhalla, NY 10595, Phone: 914-594-3717, minimurthy@aol.com

31-Jan-17

Law

Jennifer Ibrahim, PhD, MPH, Health Services Administration and Policy, College of Public Health, Temple University, 1101 W. Montgomery Ave., Bell Building (Tech Center) Rm 374, Philadelphia, PA 19122, Phone: 215-204-9657, Fax: 215-204-1854, jibrahim@temple.edu

31-Jan-17

Maternal and Child Health

Kimberly Arcoleo, PhD, MPH, College of Nursing & Healthcare Innovation, Arizona State University, 500 North 3rd Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004, Phone: 602-496-0912, Kimberly_Arcoleo@urmc.rochester.edu. Lesley Cottrell, PhD, Department of Pediatrics and Prevention Research Center, West Virginia University School of Medicine, One Medical Drive, PO Box 9214, Morgantown, WV 26506-9214, Phone: 304-293-1149, lcottrell@hsc.wvu.edu

31-Jan-17

Medical Care Section

Rosa Rodriguez-Monguio, PhD, MS, Health Policy and Management, School of Public Health and Health Sciences, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, 715 North Pleasant Street, 322 Arnold House, Amherst, MA 01003, Phone: 413-545-4603, rmonguio@schoolph.umass.edu

31-Jan-17

Mental Health

Mary Jane Alexander, PhD, Statistics and Services Research Division, Nathan Kline Institute, 140 Old Orangeburg Road, Orangeburg, NY 10962, Phone: 845-398-6584, Fax: 845-398-6592, mja@nki.rfmh.org

31-Jan-17

Occupational Health and Safety

Amber Mitchell, DrPH, MPH, CPH, International Safety Center, 1098 Oakpoint Circle, Apopka, FL 32712, Phone: 713-816-0013, amber@thepublicshealth.org. Natalie Schwatka, PhD, Department of Environmental and Occupational Health & Center for Health, Work and Environment, Colorado School of Public Health, 13001 e. 17th pl, 3r, Mail stop B119 HSC, Aurora, CO 80045, Phone: 303-724-4607, natalie.schwatka@ucdenver.edu. Alfreda Holloway-Beth, PhD, MS, Health of Studies, Chicago State University, 9501 South King Dr, DH 120B, Chicago, IL 60628, Phone: 7739953846, alfredahollowaybeth@gmail.com. Mark D. Catlin, BS BA, Service Employees International Union (SEIU), 1800 Massachusetts Ave. NW, Washington, DC 20036, Phone: (202) 730-7290, mark.catlin@seiu.org

31-Jan-17

Oral Health

Jaana Gold, DDS, MPH, PhD, CPH, College of Dentistry, University of Florida, Community Dent, PO BOX 103628, Gainesville, FL 32610, Phone: 352-273-5971, jgold@dental.ufl.edu

31-Jan-17

Physical Activity

Clare Lenhart, PhD, MPH, Institute for Public Health Research & Innovation, APHA PA Program Chair, East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania, East Stroudsburg, PA 18034, Phone: 6105540147, clenhart1@esu.edu

31-Jan-17

Podiatric Health

James Wrobel, DPM, MS, Division of Metabolism, Endocrinology, and Diabetes, University Of Michigan, 24 Frank Lloyd Wright Dr, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Phone: (734) 647-5871, jswrobel@med.umich.edu. Jim Christina, DPM, JRChristina@apma.org

31-Jan-17

Population, Reproductive and Sexual Health

Nina Bell, PhD, Health Education, Ashford University, 1515 Arapahoe Street, Denver, CO 80202, Phone: 814-337-3070, neeners01@yahoo.com. Julia Applegate, MA, Clinical Health, Columbus Public Health, 240 Parsons Ave., Columbus, OH 43215, Phone: 6146453097, Fax: 6146453097, juliaapplegate@equitashealth.com. Lea Dooley, MPH, MCHES, Nationwide Children's Hospital, 700 Children's Drive, Columbus, OH 43205, Phone: 614-722-6061, Fax: 614-722-6770, Lea.Dooley@nationwidechildrens.org

31-Jan-17

Public Health Education and Health Promotion

Ashley Walker, PhD, phehp.planner@gmail.com. Katherine Head, headkj@iupui.edu. Andrea Portillo, B.S., CHES, aportillo.apha@gmail.com. Anthony Edwards, Ed. D., MHA, CPH, aedwards@tarleton.edu

31-Jan-17

Public Health Nursing

Alexandra Garcia, agarcia@mail.nur.utexas.edu. Kathy Shaw, DNP, RN, CDE, Phone: 303-724-8528, Fax: 303-724-0960, Kathy.Shaw@ucdenver.edu. Tom Engle, MN, RN, Retired; Oregon Public Health Division, 15555 NW Norwich, Beaverton, OR 97006, Phone: 503-806-2390, tsengle@frontier.com. Donna Kazemi, dkazemi@uncc.edu

31-Jan-17

Public Health Social Work

Abigail M. Ross, PhD, MSW, MPH, aross28@fordham.edu. Michelle Falcon, michelle.falcon@icahn.mssm.edu

31-Jan-17

Vision Care

Kathleen O'Connor, MPH, Division of Health Care Statistics, CDC, National Center for Health Statistics, 3311 Toledo Room, #3454, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Phone: 301-458-4181, koconnor1@cdc.gov

Deadlines 11:59 pm PST

Special Interest Groups

31-Jan-17

Pharmacy

Barry A. Bleidt, PhD, PharmD, RPh, FAPhA, FNPhA, Sociobehavioral and Administrative Pharmacy Department, Nova Southeastern University College of Pharmacy, 3200 South University Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33328-2018, bbleidt@nova.edu

31-Jan-17

Veterinary Public Health

Thomas Doker, DVM, MPH, DACVPM/Epidemiology, CPH, Ft Detrick, USAF, Porter Street, Frederick, MD 21702, Phone: 678-862-2281, thomas.doker@gmail.com. Alexandra Schafer, chelsea.a.schafer@gmail.com

Deadlines 11:59 pm PST

Forums

31-Jan-17

Cancer Forum

Jason Oliver, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Duke University School of Medicine, Durham, NC, Jason.A.Oliver@dm.duke.edu. Heather McGinty, Cancer Center, Ohio State University, Heather.McGinty@osumc.edu

31-Jan-17

Genomics Forum

Christopher H. Wade, PhD, MPH, School of Nursing & Health Studies, University of Washington Bothell, Box 358532, 18115 Campus Way NE, Bothell, WA 98011, Phone: 425-352-5322, Fax: 425-352-3237, cwade7@uw.edu

31-Jan-17

Human Rights Forum

Gabriel Armas-Cardona, J.D., None, Arabkir 43rd St, 41/3, Yerevan Armenia, Phone: +37498620217, gabe.armas-cardona@nyu.edu

31-Jan-17

Trade and Health Forum

Timothy Mackey, MAS, PhD, Dept of Anesthesiology, UC San Diego - School of Medicine, 8950 Villa La Jolla Dr. A204, A204, La Jolla, CA 92037, Phone: 951-491-4161, tmackey@ucsd.edu

Deadlines 11:59 pm PST

Caucuses

31-Jan-17

Academic Public Health Caucus

Sarah Weiner, MPH, CPH, Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health, Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health, 1900 M Street, NW, Suite 710, Washington, DC 20005, Phone: 12022961099140, sweiner@aspph.org

31-Jan-17

American Indian, Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Caucus

Hannabah Blue, M.S., NDSU Department of Public Health, American Indian Public Health Resource Center, 1805 Research Park Dr, Fargo, ND 58102, Phone: 701-231-6239, hannabah.blue@ndsu.edu. Ingrid Stevens, MPH, Department of Community Health Services, Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium, 3900 Ambassador Drive, Anchorage, AK 99508, Phone: 503-954-6581, Fax: 907-729-3652, stevens1ingrid@gmail.com. David Cummings, Phone: 910-316-0676, cummingsd06@hotmail.com. Narinder Dhaliwal, MA, Research Department, ETR Associates, 5495 Carlson Drive, Suite D, Sacramento, CA 95819, Phone: 916-642-1186, narinderd@etr.org

30-Apr-17

APHC-Delta Omega Poster Session

Sarah Weiner, MPH, CPH, Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health, Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health, 1900 M Street, NW, Suite 710, Washington, DC 20005, Phone: 12022961099140, sweiner@aspph.org

31-Jan-17

Asian & Pacific Islander Caucus for Public Health

Feng Qian, MD, PhD, Department of Health Policy, Management, and Behavior, University at Albany - State University of New York, One University Place, GEC Rm 169, School of Public Health, Rensselaer, NY 12144, Phone: 518-402-0325, Fax: 518--402-0414, fqian@albany.edu

31-Jan-17

Black Caucus of Health Workers

George Smith, EdD, MPH, Center of Community Health & Vitality, University of Chicago, 950 East 61st Street, MC 1119, Room 228, Chicago, IL 60637, Phone: 773-834-4244, Fax: 773-702-3193, georgersmithjr@yahoo.com. Jill Dingle, MPH, Division of HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis, NYSDOH- AIDS Institute, 90 Church Street, 13th floor, New York, NY 10007, Phone: 212 417-4531, jill.dingle@health.ny.gov

31-Jan-17

Caucus on Homelessness

Brett Poe, National Health Care for the Homeless Council, PO Box 60427, Nashville, TN 37206, Phone: 615-226-2292, bpoe@nhchc.org. Alaina Boyer, PhD, Research Team, National Health Care for the Homeless Council, 604 Gallatin rd Suite 106, Nashville, TN 37206, Phone: 9548221611, aboyer@nhchc.org

31-Jan-17

Caucus on Public Health and the Faith Community

Dorine Brand, Ph.D., M.P.H., dbrand5@uis.edu. Jacqueline Tiema-Massie, MPH, Chicago Department of Family and Support Services, 1615 W. Chicago, Avenue, Chicago, IL 60622, Phone: (312) 743-1496, jacquelinemassie@gmail.com

31-Jan-17

Caucus on Refugee and Immigrant Health

Guy-Lucien Whembolua, Ph.D., Africana Studies, University of Cincinnati, French Hall West, Room 3605, PO Box 210370, Cincinnati, OH 45242, Phone: 513-556-2423, Fax: 513-556-0370, gl.whembolua@uc.edu. Laura Nellums, Phd, International Health Unit, Section for Infectious Diseases and Immunity, Department of Medicine, Imperial College London, 8th Floor, Commonwealth building, Department of Medicine, Hammersmith Campus, Du Cane Road, London W12 0NN United Kingdom, lbnellums@gmail.com. Titilayo Okoror, PhD, Department of Africana Studies, Binghamton University, 4400 Vestal Parkway E, P.O. Box 6000, Binghamton, NY 13902, Phone: 607-777-3417, Fax: 607-777-6547, taokoror@gmail.com

31-Jan-17

Community Based Public Health Caucus

Juanita Booker-Vaughns, EdD, Community Engagement Core, Charles R. Drew University of Medicine & Science, 1731 E. 120th, Los Angeles, CA 90059, Phone: 3235634800, toreyon64@yahoo.com. Adam Paberzs, MPH, Outreach, Partnerships and Implementation Science, Michigan Institute for Clinical & Health Research, 2800 Plymouth Road, Building 400, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2800, Phone: 734-763-8880, adampabe@med.umich.edu. Mondi Mason, PhD, MPH, Dept of Environmental Health, Community Health Division, City and County of Denver, 200 West 14th Avenue, Denver, CO 80204, Phone: 720-865-5463, mondi.mason@denvergov.org. Tonya Roberson, MPH, College of Nursing - Biobehavioral Health Science, University of Illinois at Chicago, 845 S. Damen, Chicago, IL 60616, Phone: 7739793918, tonyaroberson25@yahoo.com

31-Jan-17

Family Violence Prevention Caucus

Laura Schwab Reese, MA, PhD, Department of Pediatrics, University of Colorado Denver, 13123 E 16th Ave, B390, Gary Pavilion, Aurora, CO 80045, Phone: 3038645307, laura.m.schwab@gmail.com

31-Jan-17

Latino Caucus

Daniel Lopez-Cevallos, PhD, Oregon State University, 262 Waldo Hall, Corvallis, OR 97331, Phone: 541-838-8021, Fax: 541-838-8228, daniel.lopez-cevallos@oregonstate.edu. Barbara Baquero, PhD, MPH, Community and Behavioral Health, University of Iowa, College of Public Health, 145 N Riverside Dr, 100 CPHB N418, Iowa City, IA 52442, Phone: 319-384-1480, Fax: 319-384-4106, barbara-baquero@uiowa.edu

31-Jan-17

LGBT Caucus of Public Health Professionals

Don Allensworth-Davies, PhD, MSc, CPH, School of Health Sciences, Cleveland State University, 2121 Euclid Avenue, IM-117, Cleveland, OH 44115, Phone: 216-687-3833, d.allensworthdavies@csuohio.edu. Brittany Charlton, ScD, Harvard Medical School and Boston Children's Hospital, 300 Longwood Avenue, Boston, MA 02115, Phone: 857-218-5463, bcharlton@mail.harvard.edu

31-Jan-17

Men's Health Caucus

Albert W. Pless, MS, The Men's Health League, Cambridge Public Health Department, Cambridge, MA, Phone: 617-665-3830, apless@challiance.org

31-Jan-17

Peace Caucus

Nada Alnaji, nada.alnaji@unmc.edu. Patrice Sutton, MPH, Research Scientist, University of California San Francisco, 550 16th Street, San Francisco, CA 94143, Phone: 415 407 8806, psutton2000@yahoo.com

31-Jan-17

Socialist Caucus

Martha Livingston, PhD, Professor and Chair, Public Health, SUNY College at Old Westbury, Box 210, Old Westbury, NY 11568, Phone: (516) 876-2748, Fax: (516) 876-2704, livingston.martha@gmail.com. Johnathon Samuel Ross, MD MPH, University of Toledo College of Medicine, Dept. of Internal Medicine, St. Vincent Mercy Medical Center, 3468 Brookside Road, Toledo, OH 43606, Phone: 419 536 3879, Fax: 419 251 2393, drjohnross@ameritech.net

31-Jan-17

Spirit of 1848 Caucus

Nancy Krieger, PhD, Dept of Social and Behavioral Sciences, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, 677 Huntington Avenue, Kresge 717, Boston, MA 02115, Phone: 617-432-1571, Fax: 617-432-3123, nkrieger@hsph.harvard.edu

31-Jan-17

Women's Caucus

Michelle S. Williams, PhD, MSPH, MPH, CHES, School of Nursing, Auburn University, Auburn, AL 36849, Phone: 334-329-4767, m.williamsfamu@mac.com

Deadlines 11:59 pm PST

APHA Component Programs

31-Jan-17

Breastfeeding

Nathan C. Nickel, MPH, PhD, Department of Community Health Sciences, Rady College of Medicine, Max Rady Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Manitoba, 408-727 McDermot Ave, Winnipeg, MB R3E 3P5 Canada, Phone: 2047893666, Nathan_Nickel@cpe.umanitoba.ca