Call for Reviewers

"Creating the Healthiest Nation: For science. For action. For health"

The American Public Health Association is looking for reviewers for the APHA's 2019 Annual Meeting and Expo.

The theme of the meeting — "Creating the Healthiest Nation: For science. For action. For health".

Reviewers have the opportunity to get a firsthand look at the abstracts submitted during the Call for Abstracts and to help develop the scientific content presented during the meeting.

Membership

Being a reviewer is an exclusive APHA member benefit. Click to join now         to take advantage of this career development opportunity!

Instructions to become a reviewer

  1. Scroll below to select a specific Section, SPIG, Caucus or Forum whose submitted abstracts you would like to review.
  2. Click on the reviewers submission form to provide your contact information. You will also be required to select up to three topic areas that you would like to review.
  3. You will also be required to complete a conflict of interest form. This is a requirement by the Continuing Education Credentialing Bodies and APHA must be in compliance with this requirement.
  4. A program planner will review your information and assign you abstracts to review. You will receive an email by March 5 with instructions and deadlines moving forward. Please note some start/end deadlines may vary.
  5. Reviewers will be required to read abstracts and rate them according to the criteria provided.

We need your expertise to help make the meeting a success!

Select an APHA program

All Deadlines 11:59 pm PST
APHA - Sponsored
Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-05-20
APHA General Films

Donna Wright, donna.wright@apha.org, 202-777-2477; Angelica Walker, angelica.walker@apha.org, 202-777-2478; Renata Schiavo, renata@renataschiavo.com, 646 486 9485; Nicole Martin, nmartin@martin-healthlaw.com; Pamela Luna, DrPam@earthlink.net

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
APHA-Committee on Womens Rights

Kimberly Narain, kimberly.cauleynarain@gmail.com, 213-536-9897; Constance Jackson, constancejackson@mycaremedia.com, 3103664996

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
APHA-Student Assembly

Bunmi Ogungbe, bunmi.ogungbe.apha@gmail.com, 601-541-1152; Allison Casola, arcasola.apha@gmail.com

All Deadlines 11:59 pm PST
APHA Focused Topics
Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-02-06
Breastfeeding

Nathan C. Nickel, nathan_nickel@cpe.umanitoba.ca, 204-789-3666

All Deadlines 11:59 pm PST
Sections
Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Aging & Public Health

Isis Mikhail, mikhaili@mail.nih.gov, 301-402-7704; Annie Nguyen, annie.nguyen@med.usc.edu, 626-457-4121; Ruth Little, littlena@ecu.edu, 252-916-4608; Amanda Grimes, grimesa@umkc.edu, 8162106043; Stacey Plichta, Stacey.Plichta@sph.cuny.edu, 973-873-3789; Lesley Steinman, lesles@uw.edu, 206-850-4066

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-02-15
Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drugs

Robert Carroll, robcarroll63@me.com, 206-351-7525; Steven Kritz, kritz@ny.freei.net, 9179695502

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Applied Public Health Statistics

Wei Pan, wei.pan@duke.edu, 919-684-9324; Lei Zhang, Lei.Zhang@msdh.ms.gov, 601-576-8165

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Chiropractic Health Care

Dana Madigan, madigan.danam@gmail.com, 773-680-9955

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Community Health Planning and Policy Development

Shannon Nicks, nicks@ohio.edu, 740-597-1695; Kristin Schuller, schuller@ohio.edu, 740-593-0528

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Community Health Workers

Paige Menking, chwsectionprogram@gmail.com

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Disability

Katherine Froehlich-Grobe, kfgrobe@bswrehab.com, 214-818-2584; Librada Callender, librada.callender@bswhealth.org, 214-820-9988

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Environment

Michelle Martin, michelle.martin@wellcertified.com, 7575082850; Raquel Silva, raquel.silva@icf.com

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Epidemiology

Kesha Baptiste-Roberts, baptika@gmail.com, 443-885-4013; Siobhan Maty, siobhanmaty@gmail.com

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Ethics

Jody Vogelzang, vogelzjo@gvsu.edu, 616-331-5059; Lillian Mehran, lillian.mehran20@sphmail.cuny.edu, 6464819599

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Food and Nutrition

Traci Causey, traci.causey@gmail.com, 425-686-9553; Chelsea Singleton, csingle1@illinois.edu, 217-300-8139

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Health Administration

Sonia Lee, sonialee518@gmail.com, 848-391-7223; Carmen L. Ashley, cdy3@cdc.gov, 770-870-4024

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Health Informatics Information Technology

Byron Sogie-Thomas, bsogie1@hotmail.com; Diane L. Adams, dla8315@aol.com, 0000000

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
HIV/AIDS

Rob Stephenson, rbsteph@umich.edu, 404-217-3509; Perry Halkitis, perry.halkitis@rutgers.edu, 732-235-9700; Stacy W. Smallwood, ssmallwood@georgiasouthern.edu, 912-478-2040; Danielle Campbell, ms.danielle.campbell@gmail.com, 310-794-9227

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-02-23
Injury Control and Emergency Health Services

Erin Wasserman, ewasserman@datalyscenter.org; Janice Springer, janice.springer@redcross.org, 320-290-9532; Amy Hunter, amhunter@uchc.edu, 860.837.5325

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-02-20
Integrative, Complementary and Traditional Health Practices

Isabel J. Roth, iroth@email.unc.edu; Kim Faurot, faurot@med.unc.edu, 9199668586; Daniel Gallego-Perez, danielfg@bu.edu, 7815408396

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-02-14
International Health

Jessica Keralis, jmkeralis@gmail.com, 713-261-5066; Jirair Ratevosian, jratevosian@gmail.com, 818-620-3171

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Law

Stacie Kershner, lawandhealth@gsu.edu, 404-413-9088

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-02-06
Maternal and Child Health

Kimberly Arcoleo, karcoleo@uri.edu, 602-496-0912; Lesley Cottrell, lcottrell@hsc.wvu.edu, 304-293-1149

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Medical Care Section

Rosa Rodriguez-Monguio, Rosa.Rodriguez-Monguio@ucsf.edu, 415-502-6029; Wassim Tarraf, wassim.tarraf@wayne.edu, 3136642632; Elham Mahmoudi, mahmoudi@med.umich.edu, 248-765-3927

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-02-28
Mental Health

Jessica Pollard, jessica.pollard@yale.edu, 203-974-7345; Shannon Imetovski, shannon.imetovski@yale.edu, 2036415926; Tiffany Haynes, tfhaynes@uams.edu, 870-630-4438; Leslie Adams, lbadams@hsph.harvard.edu, 404-435-6601; Neena Schultz, neena.schultz@gmail.com, 610-745-8613; Wyatt Meriwether, wemeriw@gmail.com, 7857648666; I-Hsin Lin, ihl216nyu@gmail.com, 9178686022; Marci Ronik, marci@ronikradlauer.com, 954-295-5516; Julie Radlauer-Doerfler, jradlauer@comcast.net; Genevieve Graaf, genevieve.graaf@uta.edu; Nicholas Coombs, nicholas.coombs@umontana.edu, 406-672-5311; Mary Jane Alexander, mja@nki.rfmh.org, 845-398-6584

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Occupational Health and Safety

Alfreda Holloway-Beth, alfredahollowaybeth@gmail.com, 773-905-9122; Ingrid Denis, idenis@aoec.org, 202-347-4976; Lucy Galindo, lgalindo@northwestern.edu, 3125038300; Jeanette Zoeckler, zoecklej@upstate.edu, 315-432-8899

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-02-16
Oral Health

Lyubov Slashcheva, lslashcheva@appletreedental.org, 540-383-1954; Josefine Wolfe, josefinewolfe@atsu.edu, 512-279-3910

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Pharmacy

Barry A. Bleidt, bbleidt@nova.edu, 954-262-1855

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
PHEHP Materials Contest

Andrea Medeiros, aportillo.apha@gmail.com; Cedric Harville, charvilleapha@gmail.com, 352-294-1638; Kelsie Kelly, kdkellyapha@gmail.com; Karen Mancera-Cuevas, Karen.Mancera-Cuevas@illinois.gov

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-02-15
PHEHP Student Awards Contest

Andrea Medeiros, aportillo.apha@gmail.com; Christine Hackman, chackman@calpoly.edu; Charis Davidson, charis.davidson@gmail.com, 507-389-5382

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Physical Activity

Derek C. Herrmann, apha.pa.programplanners@gmail.com, 765-494-0887; Noël C Barengo, nbarengo@fiu.edu, 3058428793

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Podiatric Health

James Wrobel, jswrobel@med.umich.edu, 734-647-5871; James R. Christina, jrchristina@apma.org, 301-581-9265

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-02-06
Public Health Education and Health Promotion

Andrea Medeiros, aportillo.apha@gmail.com; Ashley Walker, awalker@georgiasouthern.edu, 2147695179; Nan Martin, nzhao4@calstatela.edu, 323-343-4743; Katharine Head, headkj@iupui.edu, 317-278-3760; Charis Davidson, charis.davidson@gmail.com, 507-389-5382; Christine Hackman, chackman@calpoly.edu

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-02-06
Public Health Nursing

Tracy Booth, tracy.booth@umhb.edu, 254-295-4670; Maria Gilson deValpine, devalpmg@jmu.edu, 503-239-6081

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Public Health Social Work

Abigail M. Ross, aross28@fordham.edu, 212-636-6652; Julie A. Cederbaum, jcederba@usc.edu, 213-740-4361

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
School Health Education and Services

Erin Maughan, emaughan@nasn.org, 240-247-1624; Samira Soleimanpour, samira.soleimanpour@ucsf.edu, 4152358208; Kelly Beckwith, kbeckwi2@gmu.edu, 703-993-4555

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Sexual and Reproductive Health (SRH)

Aline Gubrium, agubrium@schoolph.umass.edu, 413-552-9450; Angel M. Foster, angel.foster@uottawa.ca, 617-417-9974

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Vision Care

Kathleen S. O'Connor, koconnor1@cdc.gov, 301-458-4181

All Deadlines 11:59 pm PST
Special Interest Groups
Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Veterinary Public Health

Thomas Doker, thomas.doker@gmail.com, 678-862-2281; Stephanie Masiello Schuette, smasiell@gmail.com

All Deadlines 11:59 pm PST
Forums
Call for Reviewers
closed on
0000-00-00
Cancer Forum

Adriana Babiak-Vazquez, adriana.e.babiak-vazquez@nasa.gov, 281-483-9705; Michael Halpern, michael.halpern@nih.gov, 240-276-5818; Jennifer Ersek, jennifer.ersek@atriumhealth.org, 704-654-0884

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-02-12
Genomics Forum

Yu-Lyu Yeh, yyeh@tamu.edu, 248-928-4976; Wei-Ju Chen, chen_w@utpb.edu, 432-552-2346

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Human Rights Forum

Gabriel Armas-Cardona, Gabriel.Armas-Cardona@nyu.edu, 015204469451

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Trade and Health Forum

Timothy Mackey, tmackey@ucsd.edu, 951-491-4161

All Deadlines 11:59 pm PST
Caucuses
Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Academic and Practice Linkages in Public Health Caucus

Jessica Petrush, jpetrush@aspph.org, 202-296-1099 X136; Rita Kelliher, rkelliher@aspph.org

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
American Indian, Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Caucus

Elton Naswood, eltonnaswood@hotmail.com, 3232705043; Hannabah Blue, AIANNH.PPC@gmail.com

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
APHC-Delta Omega Poster Session

Allison Foster, afoster@aspph.org, 2022961099; Jessica Petrush, jpetrush@aspph.org, 202-296-1099 X136

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Asian & Pacific Islander Caucus for Public Health

Jennifer Wong, Jennifer.Wong@nyulangone.org, 646-501-3492

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-02-08
Black Caucus of Health Workers

George Smith, georgersmithjr@yahoo.com, 773-995-2046; Barbara Norman, normanb0167@sbcglobal.net, 7732390900; Apryl Brown, aprylrbrown@gmail.com, 313-303-1957

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Caucus on Homelessness

Brett Poe, bpoe@nhchc.org, 615-226-2292

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Caucus on Public Health and the Faith Community

Dorine J. Brand, dbrand5@uis.edu, 217-206-7874; Jacqueline Tiema-Massie, jacquelinemassie@gmail.com, 773-818-3300

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-03-28
Caucus on Refugee and Immigrant Health

Laura Nellums, lbnellums@gmail.com, +447492524624; Kelechi Ibe-Lamberts, kelechi.lamberts@gmail.com

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Community Based Public Health Caucus

Patricia Piechowski, kwikwi@umich.edu, 734-998-7632; William Johnson, w0john05@exchange.louisville.edu, 9286073734

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Family Violence Prevention Caucus

Laura Schwab-Reese, lschwabr@purdue.edu, 303-864-5307

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Latino Caucus

Barbara Baquero, bbaquero@uw.edu, 619-481-4434; Airin Martinez, admartinez@umass.edu, 443-722-2359

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
LGBT Caucus of Public Health Professionals

Brittany Charlton, bcharlton@mail.harvard.edu, 857-218-5463; Madina Agénor, madina.agenor@tufts.edu, 617-627-5744

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Men's Health Caucus

Ana Tomsic, ana@menshealthnetwork.org, 202-543-6461; Albert Pless, apless@challiance.org, 8572445445

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Peace Caucus

Patrice Sutton, psutton2000@yahoo.com, 415-407-8806

Call for Reviewers
closed on
2019-01-31
Women's Caucus

Brittny Bratcher-Rasmus, brbratcher@gmail.com; Nakesha Powell, skyybanks@yahoo.com, 678-360-2020; Michelle S. Williams, m.williamsfamu@mac.com