3186.0: Monday, November 13, 2000: 4:30 PM-6:00 PM

Gerontological Health Key Award Session

See individual abstracts for presenting author's disclosure statement.
Learning Objectives: Refer to the individual abstracts for learning objectives
Presider(s):Richard Fortinsky, PhD
4:30 PMKey Pharmaceuticals Award for Leadership in Health and Aging. Recipient: James J. Callahn, Jr. Ph.D., Policy Center on Aging, Heller School, Brandeis University. Presented by Nancy Alfred Persily MPH and Pam Ausman
4:40 PMAnnouncement of the Betty J. Cleckley Minority Issues Reaserch Award by Carol E. Allan, RN. PhD, President, APHA
4:50 PMAetna Award for Excellence in Research on Older Women and Public Health. Recipient: Barbara E. Millen, DrPh, University of Boston School of Public Health and Medicine. Presented by Marcia G. Ory, Ph.D. MPH
5:00 PMArchstone Foundation Award for Excellence in Program Innovation. Co-Recipient: Experience Corps, John Hopkins Center on Aging & Health. Accepted by Linda Fried MD and Marc Freedman MBA. Co-Recipient: Assistive Equipment Demonstration Project, The Gerontology Institute at the University of Massacuhetts Boston and the Executive Office of Elder Affairs. Presented by Brenda R. Wamsley, MSW
5:10 PMAward for Excellence in Research on Aging and Rural Health. Sponsored by the Office of Rural Health Policy, Health Resources and Services Administration, Department of Health and Human Services. Recipient: Joseph R. Sharkey, MPH, Doctoral Candidate, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Presented by Joan F. Van Nostrand DPA
5:20 PMJames G. Zimmer New Investigator Award for Excellence in Research in Aging & Disability. Co-Recipients: Susan C. Miller, Ph.D., Brown Universtiy, Center for Gerontology and Health Care Research, and Deborah N. Peikes, Ph.D., Mathematic Policy Research, Inc. Presented by Nancy A. Miller Ph.D.
5:30 PMNobuo Maeda International Research Award for Excellence in Research in Aging & Disability. Recipient: Junling Wang, MS, University of Maryland, School of Pharmacy. Presented by Nancy A. Miller, Ph.D.
5:40 PMRetiremetn Research Foundation Doctoral Student Research Award. Recipient: Bonnie Davies Yeiser, MA, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, Political Sciences Graduate Program. Presented by Nancy A. Miller, Ph.D.
5:50 PMLaurence G. Branch Student Research Award. Recipient: Robin Taylor Wilson, MA, University of Iowa, College of Public Health, Department of Epidemiology. Presented by Laurence G. Branch, Ph.D.
Sponsor:Gerontological Health

The 128th Annual Meeting of APHA